Dr. Rick Artman Receives LADCO’s “Distinguished Service Award”

The Distinguished Service Award recognizes an individual “for his or her long term devotion and wide ranging contributions to the development of the area economy.” A city or area cannot be great until it has a great college. We are fortunate to have three.

This year we recognize two recipients, who flow smoothly into the pantheon of Distinguished Service Award recipients as you will readily agree. They are giants in the field of higher education, although both are too humble to wear that accolade.

Dr. Richard Artman began his duties as Viterbo University’s eighth president July 1, 2006 and will retire December 31, 2016 with the title of president emeritus. He began his professional career at University of Miami, Florida, where he served as residence life area coordinator, assistant dean of students and international student advisor, acting dean of students, university ombudsman, and assistant to the vice president of student affairs.

Throughout his career, he has been an active member of a number of professional and civic organizations and has served on a variety of professional and community boards, commissions, and task forces.

While Viterbo’s leader, he has transformed the campus, guided major curriculum advances, grown the enrollment and attracted major additions to the University endowment to name a few accomplishments. He has won the respect and admiration of students, faculty, and the community as an outstanding role model.

Dr. Artman is a member of the downtown Rotary Chapter and he presently serves on the Board of Directors of Downtown Mainstreet, the Board of Directors of the Council of Independent Colleges (CIC), and as a trustee of Felician University (NJ). He is a past member of the La Crosse Area Chamber of Commerce Board, Association of Catholic Colleges and Universities (ACCU) Board, and past president of the NAIA Council of Presidents.